Tour of Homes, Part One
Just as the definition of “home” varies from person to person, ways to that “home” differ as well. This year’s theme is All Roads Lead Home. The homes and properties shown today are each unique but they all share one thing in common – each have paths that lead someone home.
On Saturday, June 11 from 10 am to 4 pm the following homes and properties will be on view:
- The Gearan Center for the Performing Arts, 300 Pulteney Street: Opened in January of this year, this 65,000-square-foot facility brings together the music, dance, theater, and media and society departments in a unified academic space at the heart of the Hobart and William Smith campus. Consistent in design with existing campus architecture, the brick and stone building exceeds LEED Silver Certification.
488 White Springs Road: Complete with a wonderful view of farmland and vineyards, this 1965 Dutch colonial style home has 3,700 square feet of living space. The garden features rhododendrons, daylilies, roses, hydrangea, weeping cherry, blueberries, Concord grapes, and gooseberries.
- FLCC’s Viticulture and Wine Center, 100 Empire Drive: This 9,000-square-foot facility opened in 2015 with a teaching winery, enology laboratory, aging rooms, wine storage, a crush pad, a classroom, and office space. The facility supports FLCC’s viticulture and wine technology program.
- ARC Home, 859 Hastings Road: Currently owned by Ontario ARC, this home was originally built in 1989 by Otto and Maria Stern, owners of Stern’s Nurseries and developer of Miracle Gro plant food. The property features a greenhouse, a large open-concept kitchen, and two deck areas.
- 5053 Reeds Bay: Built in 1940, this cottage was completely overhauled and expanded in 2014. The house includes a deck looking out on 100 feet of lake frontage, custom kitchen cabinets, hand hewn hardwood floors, and a second floor balcony with lake views.
Preview of the 2016 Tour of Homes to be continued.